In DocBoss, we refer to a card as a storage container for every version of a document.
It also stores the key meta data (current status/version/etc), and maintains the links to both the document code and to the list of equipment from which additional meta data is derived (like tag lists, line number lists etc).
From a storage perspective, it is similar to a storage drawer, where every version of a file is placed in sequential order.
So what is the impact on a card if is is locked?
Once a card is locked, DocBoss starts tracking the State and in addition, it stops that card from being auto-renumbered.
Is a Card Locked?
There is a column on the Card List that displays if a card is Locked
How do Cards get locked?
Transmitting a Card
If you submit a card it automatically becomes locked. DocBoss starts tracking the state of this card and if Bulk Re-Numbering is reset on the project this card will not be included. The numbering will remain as assigned.
Transmitting an SDI Report
Submitting the SDI Report through DocBoss will lock all cards on a project. This assumes, that the customer is expecting all cards as listed and therefore DocBoss starts to track the state of each card. If for example, there is something you have listed then it becomes N/A, (even though you have never submitted it) having the card locked will allow you to still display that entry in the SDI Report.
Manually Locking Cards
If you have a new project and you want to lock the cards without submitting an SDI Report you can do so manually.
Project List Drop Down > Lock All Cards
This same process would allow you to un-lock those cards. (Click the Project List Drop Down) You will see “Unlock Cards” BUT you can only un-lock cards that have been manually locked, that have not been issued on a submittal nor have been included as an entry on an SDI Report that has been submitted through DocBoss.
If there are no cards that are available to un-lock you will see “All Cards Locked”